north dakota tint laws

North Dakota Tint Laws

by

Jeffrey
August 10, 2022
16 Views

North Dakota Tint Laws are pretty strict when it comes to window tinting your car.

In North Dakota, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle with the windows tinted below 35% visible light transmission. 

This law is in place for the safety of motorists and their passengers.

Tinted windows can obstruct the driver’s view of the road, and can also prevent people from seeing into the car. 

In this blog post, we will discuss North Dakota’s tint laws in more detail.

We will explain why the law was enacted, and we will also provide some tips on how to choose the right window tint for your car.

North Dakota Tint Laws: How Dark Can Your Car Windows Be?

pexels jae park 3802510

North Dakota’s window tinting laws are very specific about the amount of light that can pass through your car windows.

In North Dakota, this percentage is very low for the front windshield, and a bit higher for the back seat passengers.

According to North Dakota law, the front windshield can have a VLT no lower than 50%.

This means that 50% of the light that hits the window will pass through it.

For comparison, most states have a 70% VLT requirement for front windshields.

The purpose of this low number is to increase driver visibility, especially at night.

You may wonder what happens if my drive shaft breaks while driving? 

You can get the answer to this question, we have already discussed it.

Passenger Windows:

North Dakota’s passenger windows have a VLT of 35%.

This number is still relatively low when compared to other states, but it allows for a bit more privacy for back seat passengers.

In North Dakota, only the driver’s side window can be heavily tinted.

The front passenger’s window must have a VLT of at least 50%, just like the windshield.

 Rear Window:

The rear window can also be heavily tinted in North Dakota, as long as there is an external mirror on each side of the vehicle.

If your car does not have these mirrors, then the rear window cannot be tinted darker than 35% VLT.

So how dark can your car windows be in North Dakota?

It depends on the location of the window and the purpose of the tint.

North Dakota’s tint laws are some of the most specific in the country, so it’s important to know them before you get your car windows tinted.

You also must know the power steering assist faults and how to fix them, we have already explained this topic you can check it out.

North Dakota: Can Tinted Windows Get You Pulled Over?

pexels kelson downes 1149137 2

The North Dakota Century Code states that a person may not operate a motor vehicle on a North Dakota highway with any window to the rear of the driver that has less than 50% light transmission.

In other words, your back windows can’t be more than 50%.

There is an exception for vehicles that are equipped with side mirrors on each side of the vehicle, which eliminates the need for a rearview mirror.

The exception allows these types of vehicles to have up to 35% light transmission in the rear windows.

If you’re caught driving with illegal window tint in North Dakota, you could be fined up to $100 for each offense.

If you’re stopped by law enforcement and they determine that your window tint is illegal, they will give you a verbal warning to have the tint removed.

You’ll be given 14 days to get your windows fixed.

If you’re caught driving with an illegal window tint a second time within two years of the first offense, you could be fined up to $500.

You may also have your driver’s license suspended for up to 30 days.

In North Dakota, it is also against the law to drive with any type of audio or visual device that can distract the driver.

This includes devices like TVs, laptops, and video games.

If you’re caught driving with one of these devices, you could be fined up to $100.

Window Tint Darkness In North Dakota:

Every state has its own legal requirements for how dark your car’s tint can be.

North Dakota’s VLT limit for passenger vehicles is 35%.

This means that after your film has been installed, no more than 35% of the outside light should be able to pass through your car windows.

There are also other North Dakota window tint rules and regulations that are good to know about.

For instance, side mirrors are required if your rear window is tinted darker than 50%.

Your front windshield can have a non-reflective tint along the top edge as long as it’s less than five inches wide.

All in all, North Dakota has some pretty lenient window tint laws.

So as long as you stay within the VLT limit and don’t go too crazy with your tint job, you should be good to go!

We have another interesting article on: How To Turn Off ABS Light

FAQs

How Do North Dakota’s Window Tint Laws Compare To Other States?

North Dakota has some pretty lenient window tint laws.

So as long as you stay within the VLT limit and don’t go too crazy with your tint job, you should be good to go!

What Is The Vlt Limit In North Dakota?

The VLT limit for passenger vehicles is 35%.

This means that after your film has been installed, no more than 35% of the outside light should be able to pass through your car windows.

Are There Any Other Restrictions On Window Tinting In North Dakota?

Yes, there are a few other restrictions.

For instance, side mirrors are required if your rear window is tinted darker than 50%.

Your front windshield can have a non-reflective tint along the top edge as long as it’s less than five inches wide.

How Can I Ensure That My Tint Job Is Legal In North Dakota?

As long as you stay within the VLT limit and don’t go too crazy with your tint job, you should be good to go!

You can also check out North Dakota’s official website for more information on window tinting laws.

We have another article for you: Motorcycle Oil Change – How To Do It Yourself

Conclusion

North Dakota’s window tinting laws are some of the most lenient in the country.

That said, it’s critical to be aware of the importance of state regulations before you get your car windows tinted.

By understanding the North Dakota tint laws, you can ensure that your car is street legal and that you’re not putting yourself at risk of getting pulled over.

So, there you have it!

Everything you need to know about North Dakota’s window tinting laws.

Be sure to follow these guidelines when getting your windows tinted so that you can avoid any potential legal issues.

You may also want to check this guide on: Wiper Fluid Not Spraying

Jeffrey

Jeffrey Bryce is an experienced motorcycle rider with years of experience caring for motorcycles. His natural fondness for motorcycles have made him come up with LetsGoForARide.com, which is dedicated to answering and teaching you how to care for your bike with the care it requires. LetsGoForARide is the one of his important lifework in reaching out to communities of motorcycle enthusiasts on how to take care of their bike and choosing the correct spare part.