vermont tint laws

Vermont Tint Laws

by

Jeffrey
July 6, 2022
24 Views

If you’re looking to tint your car windows in Vermont, it’s important to know the Vermont tint laws first.

In this blog post, we will go over everything you need to know about Vermont’s window tinting regulations.

We will cover the types of tints that are allowed, how dark the tint can be, and other restrictions that may apply.

If you’re planning on getting your car windows tinted in Vermont, make sure to read this blog post first to know Vermont tint laws.

Are Tinted Windshields Allowed In Vermont?

Vermont allows a windshield sunshade strip at the top of the windshield.

The width of the strip must not be more than six inches.

The strip must be made of a light-colored material that reflects sunlight.

Vermont law does not allow any tinting of the front side windows.

This includes the driver and passenger side windows.

The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted glass.

Also, the tint should be completely cleaned by regular wash.

Tinted front passenger and driver-side windows are not allowed in Vermont.

The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted glass.

Tinted rear windows and backside windows are allowed in Vermont as long as the car has two outside rearview mirrors.

There is a limit to how dark the tint can be.

The darkness of the tint is measured by the Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%).

Vermont law requires a VLT% of at least 35%.

vermont tint laws

Darkness Of Tints Legall In VNT

Vermont law requires a VLT% of at least 35%.

This means that the tint can be no darker than 35%.

Other Vermont Tint Rules And Regulations, there are a few other Vermont tint rules and regulations that you should be aware of.

Vermont law requires window tints to have a label that shows the VLT%.

The label must be placed on the driver’s side doorjamb or on the windshield.

Vermont also has a “medical exemption” for window tints.

Visible Light Transmission (VLT) is used to authorize the percentage of light that is allowed to pass through your car windows.

Vermont requires a VLT% of at least 35%.

The medical exemption allows for a VLT% of up to 50%.

To get the medical exemption, you must have a letter from a Vermont-licensed physician.

The letter must state that the tint is necessary for a medical condition.

Is 20% Tint Legal In Vermont?

20% tint is not legal in Vermont.

The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted glass.

Can You Get A Ticket For Tinted Windows In Vermont?

You can get a ticket for having tinted windows in Vermont.

The fine for a first offense is $100.

The fine for a second offense is $250.

The fine for a third offense is $500.

In Vermont, you are allowed to have a windshield sunshade strip at the top of the windshield.

The width of the strip must not be more than six inches.

The strip must be made of light.

With 20 tints being illegal in Vermont, does that mean 20% VLT film as well?

Yes.

Any film that falls under the 20% VLT threshold is not legal in Vermont.

Do I need to have my Vermont window tinting film removed if I move to another state?

No.

You are not required to remove your Vermont window tinting film if you move to another state.

What Happens If We Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Vermont?

If you are pulled over for having tinted windows in Vermont, the police officer will likely give you a verbal warning.

The police officer may also ask you to remove the tint from your car windows.

If you are pulled over for having tinted windows and do not remove the tint, you may be issued a ticket. Vermont

Tint Law Summary

Vermont has strict laws when it comes to car window tinting.

Vermont law does not allow any tinting of the front side windows.

This includes the driver and passenger side windows.

The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted glass.

Vermont also requires a VLT% of at least, get pulled over by a cop, you will likely just get a verbal warning.

If you don’t remove the tint, however, you can be issued a ticket with a fine of $100 for your first offense.

Tint Ticket In VT?

The Vermont tint law is very clear.

If you are caught with an illegal tint, you will get a ticket.

The fine for a first offense is $100.

The larger the fines get for each offense.

The fine for a second offense is $250.

The fine for a third offense is $500.

Factors such as the darkness of the tint and whether the car has factory-installed tint can affect Vermont drivers’ chances of getting pulled over.

Vermont law enforcement is likely to be more lenient with drivers who have factory-installed tinted windows.

Drivers who have aftermarket tints that are darker are more likely to get pulled over.

Darkness Of Windows Tint In Vermont

Vermont law requires a VLT% of at least 35%.

This means that the tint can be no darker than 35%.

You are more likely to get pulled over for having an illegal tint if your car windows are very dark.

The darkness of the tint is measured by the Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%).

vermont tint laws

1. Passengers Vehicles

There are no restrictions on tinting the windows of passenger vehicles in Vermont.

You can tint the front side windows, backside windows, and rear windows to your heart’s content.

The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted glass.

Drivers can use a windshield sunshade strip as long as it is no wider than six inches and is made of light.

Rare windows darkness levels Vermont: In Vermont, the darkness of a tint is measured by the Visible Light Transmission percentage (VLT%).

2. Multipurpose Vehicle

The Vermont tint law is the same for multipurpose vehicles as it is for passenger vehicles.

You can tint the front side windows, backside windows, and rear windows to your heart’s content.

The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted glass.

You are allowed to have a windshield sunshade strip as long as it is no wider than six inches and is made of light.

The Vermont tint law has a few exceptions.

The first exception is for vehicles with factory-installed tinted glass.

The front side may be legally tinted as long as the VLT% is 35% or higher.

The second exception is for multipurpose vehicles.

Vermont law does not allow any tinting of the front side windows.

Reflection Of Windows Tint Legall In Vermont

Reflection tinting in Vermont is only allowed along the top edge of the windshield.

The Vermont tint law does not allow any other type of reflective tinting on any other windows.

1. Passengers Vehicles

There are no restrictions on the reflectivity of tinting on the windows of passenger vehicles in Vermont.

You can have a mirrored finish, metallic finish, or any other type of reflective finish on your car windows.

The Vermont tint law has a few exceptions.

The first exception is for vehicles with factory-installed tinted glass.

The front side should be not metallic or mirrored.

The second exception is for multipurpose vehicles.

Vermont law does not allow any tinting of the front side windows.

2. Multipurpose Vehicle

The Vermont tint law is the same for multipurpose vehicles as it is for passenger vehicles.

You can have a mirrored finish, metallic finish, or any other type of reflective finish on your car windows.

You are allowed to have a windshield sunshade strip as long as it is no wider than six inches and is made of no metallic or mirrored material.

Vermont law does not allow any other type of reflective tinting on any other windows.

Medical Exemption In Vermont For Tinted Windows

Vermont does not have any medical exemption for tinted windows.

If you are caught with an illegal tint, you will get a ticket.

The fine for a first offense is $100.

The larger the fines get for each offense.

The fine for a second offense is $250.

For the fine for a third offense, the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles will impose a civil penalty of $500.

Vermont also has a “no-tolerance” policy for drivers who are caught with an illegal tint and are under the age of 18.

Criminal Record In Vermont For Tinted Windows Having an illegal tint is not a criminal offense in Vermont.

You will not get arrested for having an illegal tint.

The only penalty is fine, and the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles will not put anything on your driving record.

You maybe receive a 4-year permit for having an illegal tint.

Benefits Of Windows Tinting In Vermont

There are many benefits of tinting your windows, even if it is not legal.

The most obvious benefit is that it makes your car look cool.

Tinted windows also protect your upholstery from fading and your skin from the harmful UV rays of the sun.

Tinted windows also keep your car cooler in the summer.

This is because the tint reflects the sun’s rays away from the car.

Tinted windows also help to reduce glare, making it easier to see when driving.

There are many benefits of tinting your windows, even if it is not legal.

The most obvious benefit is that it makes your car look cool.

vermont tint laws

1. Looks Like Interior From Fading

Tinted windows also protect your upholstery from fading and your skin from the harmful UV rays of the sun.

The tinting film blocks out 99% of the ultraviolet rays that can cause fading.

This means you will also be able to reduce the chances of overheating.

You can choose a window tint with a low VLT% for more heat protection or a high VLT% for more UV protection.

If you are looking for a window tint that will protect your car’s interior from fading, we recommend a product like the Llumar Air 80.

This film has a low VLT% of 20% and will keep your car’s interior cool and protected from UV rays.

2. UV Rays Blockage

Tinted windows also keep your car cooler in the summer.

This is because the tint reflects the sun’s rays away from the car.

Tinted windows also help to reduce glare, making it easier to see when driving.

There are many benefits of tinting your windows, even if it is not legal.

The Tint’s most obvious benefit is that it makes your car look cool.

Tinted windows also protect your upholstery from fading and your skin from the harmful UV rays of the sun.

Tinted windows also keep your car cooler in the summer.

This is because the tint reflects the sun’s rays away from the car.

3. Better Security Option

Tinted windows also help to reduce glare, making it easier to see when driving.

In addition to the aesthetic benefits, tinted windows also offer some security benefits.

Tinted windows make it more difficult for people to see into your car.

This can be a deterrent for would-be thieves or vandals.

If your car is broken into, the tint can make it more difficult for the thief to see what they are looking for and make it more likely that they will leave your car empty-handed.

Cost Of Window Tinting

The cost of window tinting in Vermont can vary depending on the type of film you choose, the size of your car, and the number of windows you want to tint.

For a basic sedan, you can expect to pay between $100 and $200 for the standard film.

For a more premium film with higher heat and UV protection, you can expect to pay between $200 and $300.

If you have a larger SUV or truck, the cost can be as high as $400.

For a full-coverage package that includes all of the windows, the cost can be upwards of $1000.

If you don’t have the budget for a full-coverage window tint, we recommend starting with the front windows.

The front windows are the most important for glare reduction and UV protection.

You can always add the rear windows at a later date if you have the budget for it.

Conclusion

Vermont tint laws are some of the most lenient in the country.

You can have your windows tinted as long as the film allows at least 35% of light into the car.

We recommend choosing a film with a VLT% of 20% for optimal heat and UV protection.

The cost of window tinting in Vermont can vary depending on which type of tint you have to take into consideration.

Tinting your windows offers many benefits, from reducing glare and UV exposure to keeping your car cooler in the summer.

If you are looking for a way to improve the look of your car and protect yourself from the sun, we recommend tinting your windows.

Jeffrey

Jeffrey Bryce is an experienced motorcycle rider with years of experience caring for motorcycles. His natural fondness for motorcycles have made him come up with LetsGoForARide.com, which is dedicated to answering and teaching you how to care for your bike with the care it requires. LetsGoForARide is the one of his important lifework in reaching out to communities of motorcycle enthusiasts on how to take care of their bike and choosing the correct spare part.